SEGUIN, Texas — The Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority (GBRA) will temporarily substitute chlorine for the current chloramine disinfectant used in the treatment of drinking water at Port Lavaca Water Treatment Plant (PLWTP). This annual conversion will be begin Monday, July 8, 2019, and will continue through Sunday, July 28, 2019. Water from the Port Lavaca WTP is safe to drink during this time.

GBRA is required to properly disinfect the water and must maintain an adequate amount of disinfectant in the distribution system. Chloramine is a long-lasting disinfectant added to public drinking water for disinfection. It is formed by combining chlorinated water with small amounts of ammonia and is commonly used throughout Texas.

A chlorine conversion occurs when a water system that typically uses chloramine stops adding ammonia to the treatment process. This temporary conversion to chlorine, when coupled with flushing of the water distribution system, helps rid distribution pipes of organic material and improve the quality of the water overall.

“GBRA coordinates this preventive maintenance activity with the water system managers of the City of Port Lavaca, Port O’Connor Improvement District, Calhoun County Rural Water, and La Salle Water Control and Improvement District each year,” said Ronnie Parenica, manager at the GBRA water treatment plant. “Customers may notice a change in the taste and odor during this time, but be assured; the water meets all state and federal standards and is safe to drink.”

For more information, please contact your local drinking water provider:

City of Port Lavaca (361) 552-3347

GBRA Rural Water (361) 552-9751

Port O’Connor ID (361) 983-2652

La Salle Customers (361) 983-2652 or (361) 552-9751

The Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority was established by the Texas Legislature in 1933 as a water conservation and reclamation district. GBRA provides stewardship for the water resources in its 10-county statutory district which begins near the headwaters of the Guadalupe and Blanco rivers, ends at San Antonio Bay, and includes Kendall, Comal, Hays, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Gonzales, DeWitt, Victoria, Calhoun and Refugio counties.