New faces will be seen on two county boards as well as the Seadrift City Council following Saturday’s Municipal Elections.


Calhoun Port Authority Board District 1 incumbent Tony Holladay lost his re-election bid in unofficial results. Voter turnout was 12.95 percent.

Challenger Marty Strakos received 97 votes, or 45.75 percent, while Casey Sharp received 61 votes, 28.77 percent, and Holladay received 54 votes, 25.47 percent.

Strakos received 58 early votes and 39 on election day. Sharp received 45 early votes and 16 on election day. Holladay received 33 early votes and 21 on election day.

Also joining the board is Daniel Allen Krueger on the District 6 seat that had been held by Tony Wehmeyer. Krueger had no opponent.

District 5 incumbent Johnny J. Perez drew no challenger and retained his seat on the port board.



Tracey Johnson was newly elected with 80 votes Saturday. Incumbent June Cantrell received 49 votes and was not returned to the council.

The top three vote-getters were elected.

Voters also returned two incumbents to the council.

Incumbent Kenneth Reese received 103 votes, while incumbent Geoffrey Hunt received 92.

Kristine Metcalfe received 53 votes.

All totals are unofficial until the council canvasses the votes and certifies the election, which will be at the 6 p.m. May 11 meeting.


Cynthia Alford was elected to the Calhoun County Independent School board to fill the District 5 seat of Karen Caraway, who decided not to seek another term. She will join Bill Shrader on the board. Shrader ran unopposed for the District 6 seat that was left vacant when Lina Moore moved out of town.

Alford received 211 votes, 54.95 percent of votes cast, while Terri McGuire received 173 votes, 45.05 percent

Early voting was slow, with Alford receiving 29 votes to McGuire’s 43. Election day turnout was higher as Alford received 182 votes to 130 for McGuire.