Senior goalkeeper Saul Rodas at goal for the Sandcrabs in the Area Playoffs against the Taylor Ducks Monday, March 29. (Jared Van Epps/Wave Photo)


The Calhoun Sandcrabs varsity soccer team ended its historic season as an Area Finalist in Seguin Monday, March 28, in a 4-0 loss to the Taylor Ducks.

Taylor shut down the high-powered offense of the Sandcrabs who were averaging almost 10 goals per game this season.

Head soccer coach Esequiel Quiralte said they played a very different game and made a lot of mistakes.

“We played probably one of our worst games of the season in the worst moment,” Quiralte said.

The loss does not erase what the Sandcrabs did during the regular season: clinching their first-ever district title, their first playoff win, and advancing to the second round of the playoffs for the first time in the program’s history. These were huge accomplishments in Quiralte’s eyes.

“The kids know that we made history, and now we are committed to work harder because the goal next year is not only the playoffs but to go further,” Quiralte said.

Senior striker Jose Ledezma was proud of this team, and they gave everything they had against Taylor.

Ledezma has been part of the program for four years, and it was special for him to be part of two playoff teams in the last three seasons.

“It was really special for me, my first time coming to the second round in four years, so I’m happy,” Ledezma said.

Quiralte is proud of this year’s group, and he said they deserved recognition for their hard work this season.

Calhoun Sandcrabs varsity soccer finished the season with a 17-4-1 overall record, an 8-1-1 district record, were 4A District 28 champions, Bi-District Champions, and an Area Finalist.

--All-District Honors—

4A District 28 All-District Team:

First Team: Jose Ledezma, Marco Martinez, Jon Na Tha, Saul Rodas, Alvaro Heredia

Second Team: Diego Ledezma, Ta Moo, Jefher Ramos

Honorable Mention: Daniel Henriquez, John Moreno, Mario Vargas, Po Lo, Dah Lay Htoo, Mynt Naing, Omar Gonzalez, Gage Spencer

All-Academic: A. Heredia, J. Moreno, M. Vargas, J. Na Tha

Offensive MVP: J. Ledezma

Goal Keeper MVP: S. Rodas

Coach of the Year: Esequiel Quiralte